Lets DO this!

This Saturday I will be venturing back to Haiti for the first time in almost in year. I am beyond excited and ready to be back in the place that the Lord helped heal me through a nation and so many beautiful people. It’s hard to even believe it’s almost been year since I have been there. This time I will lead a team of eight girls who many have never been on a mission trip. Not going to lie I am a bit nervous, but I know that the lord will guide my steps and use me in the way that will glorify Him. These past months have been so impactful to say the least. I have began working at a church called Christ Fellowship as their Transitions Coordinator, which has been such a blessing and I am learning and growing spiritually so much each day. I also have a boy friend now which kind off boggles my mind! The Lord has brought me someone who cherishes each part of me and my testimony and not just parts of it, which is a true blessing straight from God.  And to top it all off I am returning to Haiti where God showed His love for me in a way that I was able to be renewed and restored. I am overwhelmed with the fact that I will be seeing the people who loved on me and poured into me in my broken state. I cannot wait to run to the women of the tent camp and wrap my arms around them once again! I know that God will use me in a different way this time when I return and I am so excited to see how He does it.  Returning to this place of hurt I am ready to use what the Lord has equipped me with to help fight others spiritual battles I once faced with the knowledge of “I can do all things in Christ who strengthens me”! I ask that you keep my team in your prayers and that The Lord keeps us safe as we go on this adventure for Christ and that His angels protect us while we enter into a place of despair and sadness. I know He is taking all of us there for a purpose and I pray that He uses each and every one of us for your design! I have been redeemed for a purpose and I am ready to fight with all that the Lord has given me for those who cannot fight anymore! Thank you everyone for all of your support and prayers for my life and me because with out all of you I would not be living this amazing life that Christ has blessed me with!

IMG_0711

One thought on “Lets DO this!

  1. Karen says:

    Carley I know you will be an amazing leader for your team! God has placed the love of the Haitian people on your heart and in your soul and that will be contagious to others. You will let that love do all the leadership for you. “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in Heaven” (Matthew 5:14-16)

    The only struggle you may face is if others don’t love it as much as you or if they are not open to the Holy Spirit moving them in the experience. Pray for that ahead of time. And of course, a group of girls can always be a challenge. Mark Lykins always talked about a goat day – usually towards the latter part of the trip when everyone is tired, homesick, etc. and overall grumpy. So look out for that too!

    To me a key is to debrief every night – no matter how tired, grumpy, etc you all are. Talk about the day. What they loved, hated, what impacted them the most, and what God is saying to them. (All of these things I learned from Mark btw and so I will give him credit).

    My favorite scripture that relates to my experiences in the Dominican is 2 Corinthians 8:1-15 and I am sure it applies to Haiti as well.

    I am looking forward to hearing all about your trip via facebook, your blog, etc. I will keep you all in my prayers!

    Living vicariously through you as you head to my favorite island in the entire world!

Leave a Reply

carley page photography

"Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. Matthew 5:16

