The Fall

11 more days left in this beautiful place, its kind of hard to wrap my mind around that idea. I have been here so long that I have grown to know this place like my home. The fact that I am here today blows my mind in it’s self. Tomorrow 3 years ago I had the fall of my life, literally. I was in a place in my life full of darkness and pain that I covered up with false comforts. I do not remember much from that night but I do know that it was a reality check I chose not to cash. I remember stumbling my way back to my apartment with no keys planning to climb through a window of my 3rd story building, but not making it in. I fell that night 3 stories onto concrete where I shattered my heel and split my upper leg open to where all my flesh was exposed in my upper thigh. I could have and and probably should have died. I have heard many stories where people have fallen from lesser heights and died, but I lived. At that time I did not know why I was alive but I took for granted the fact that I was braced not only by the concrete when fell but by the grace of God. The Lord knew it was not my time yet He chose for me to live even though He knew that I would continue down a path of destruction.  He did it because He also knew that I would fall to my knees 3 years later and thank Him for it. I could be paralyzed but Im not, I could be crippled and not be able to walk, but Im not. I walk everyday now knowing that I was saved by the hand of my Heavenly Father. He has saved me so many times and most of those times I never even realized it. I now know who to thank. He has made me realized that without that fall I would not be here today. I would not be here standing proud to be His daughter and being used for His purpose in Haiti. He had a plan for me and part of that plan was allowing me to go through some tuff trials, but He knew that my story would not end as a victim, I would be a VICTORY! That I can now shout from any roof top or 3 story building that I AM SAVED BY GRACE! Its so crazy so see how far I have come and how He has used me here in this nation. I am so lucky to be alive and to be living this amazing life and knowing I would not be here if it were not for the one who truly catches you when you fall.

 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Jeremiah 29:11-13

3 thoughts on “The Fall

  1. sarah Rideout says:

    I love u and miss you and am honored to have seen so much of the Lord working in your life! Thanks for putting up with me!

  2. Nahum F. Paulin says:

    Carley, i give thanks to God for you and your heart for this nation which i am from. Thank you for sharing, you testimony moves me with more compassion and passion for Haiti. You’ll definitely be on my prayer list. may God keep using you for life changing experiences!!
    Nahum.

Leave a Reply

carley page photography

"Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. Matthew 5:16

