The Ultimate Valentine

Well today was Valentines day. Sometimes that is a hard day for people, the people who are alone. I myself am not dating anyone, and that is sometimes hard, we desire to be with someone, and I feel like thats natural at my age. All my life I have dreamed of the man I would marry and how it would be a cinderella story (Or Ariel, she’s my fave), but I have to face the reality  that sometimes relationships are not always unicorns and rainbows. I have been in relationships in the past and there was something always missing. It was something that I never really new was not there but I could feel it, God. God was never the foundation of any of my relationships, and that is hard to do at such a young age. We are usually so infatuated with the other that we lose sight of what God intended relationships to be and that is to further the kingdom. I have recently read Proverbs 31, it is about being a Godly woman and a Godly wife. I can honestly say that before my this transformation to my new life I was none of these things, but with my new faith I long to be the wife and woman God wants me to be. I look at my mom and dads marriage and I hold it up on a pedestal. They love each other so much and their love for one another is based off their love for Christ. Yes they fight and get on each others nerves but at the end of the day they know that their love is unconditional just as Christ’s love for us. I pray that one day my marriage can be as wonderful as my parents, but for now I must trust in God to bring me that unconditional love. I know that God has the perfect man for me, one that will love me like no other man has and I am so excited! But right now I feel that God wants me to rely on him and he will fulfill the desires of my heart. He knows that I want to be married and have a family but he also wants to spiritually prepare me for it. Being here in Haiti and learning to trust in God is teaching me a lot about relationships to come. I have given my will up and taken the will of God onto my life. I now want what God wants and that is to be obedient and as Proverbs 31 verse 17-20 “She girds herself with strength and makes her arms strong. She senses that her gain is good; Her lamp does not go out at night. She stretches out her hand to the distaff, And her hands grasp the spindle. She extends out her hands to the poor”. While I am in Haiti I want my light to shine for Jesus and what he has done for me and if I continue to be a servant I believe that the verses in Proverbs 28-31 will be a testimony to the faith that I have put in our Savior.

28 Her children rise up and bless her;
Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:
29 “Many daughters have done nobly,
But you excel them all.”
30 Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.
31 Give her the product of her hands,
And let her works praise her in the gates.

I am so blessed to be where I am today and to be serving the Lord! Our God is so amazing! This blog is dedicated to my wonderful Parents, Thank you so much for believing in me and loving me unconditionally. You inspire me to be a woman of God and to have a marriage as fruitful for the Lord as yours. And to my Valentine Jesus, For giving me the ultimate present his life so I may have a new one, Happy Valentines Day.

5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Valentine

  1. Tamica says:

    Oh Carley after reading this there is no word to describe just how much you have spoken to my spirit and enriched my soul. As I read there were times I thought I was reading from my own journal as I too am not in a relationship at this time I too desire to be married and have a family and I too did not have God as the foundation for any of my past relationships. So I thank you for sharing and being willing to remove the veil so that your true self can help spmeone else see themselves for who they are and who they are called to be (and that someone is me) A Proverbs 31 woman in training PS…I love God’s timing how awesome is it that he allowed me to reconnect with you just in time to be blessed and encouraged in one of the areas I’ve been struggling in the most…thanks for sharing!

  2. Laura Beth says:

    Carley…I am amazed at what the Lord is doing in your life…praise God!! So proud of you!

  3. Pam says:

    Love your blog Carley. I am taking a class right now on how to set-up a blog and one of the tasks was to find a blog that you had interest in and send in a comment. Can’t wait to sit down and read everything. You are going to put the pressure on ? when she starts hers. Love ya

  4. Wiley says:

    Dear Carley…I love your blog and find much inspiration in the empathetic and thoughtful way in which your describe you current journey. You are helping so many people in Haiti and all of us here at home through your testimony and blog. Please know that we all love the way you are helping so many people. God Bless You and have a Blessed Day.

Leave a Reply

carley page photography

"Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. Matthew 5:16

