Hope is where the Heart is.

Today was a sad but good day. We took a team to an orphanage right outside Port-au-Prince that I had never been to before. When we pulled up there were children everywhere, the owner of the orphanage told me there was about 150 kids there, WOW! As I got out of the car the kids flocked up with upward reaching arms, as if to pick them up. I would pick one up then another would want affection and I would pick them up, it was a never ending cycle. There was a look in their eyes, a look that seemed all to familiar. They longed for love. Love that does not leave them, a love that is constant. Which is something that some of those children will never have, because some will never be adopted, unless they find the love that I found in Jesus. I could tell them I love them all I want but in the end I was leaving in 45 minutes. But within that 45 minutes I let God use me as a vessel for his love for them. Leaving the orphanage was very hard, as we pulled out tears started rolling down my face. In that moment God gave me a glimpse of hope, the same hope he had for me, that I now have for those children. I do not know if I will be back at that orphanage, but I do know those children have forever left a stamp on my heart. A stamp of Hope.

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Romans 15:13

Leave a Reply

carley page photography

"Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. Matthew 5:16

