Romans 12:2

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

This verse used to not make sense to me, I would think; Im not like this world I am different, an individual.

I thought wrong.

My life used be consumed with so many things that were not pleasing to God. All I thought about was what I looked like, who liked me, and where was my next attention coming from. Straight up self centered. EW. But in this day an age, this is honestly what our generation is taught through television and magazines its all about look at me look at me. And even though I am a renewed daughter of Christ, and has left this old life behind me it is easy to get caught up in old behaviors, but now I have the knowledge to know better.

    

I went from this to……                            To this

And yes this was not a quick process, I think about who I used to be and I feel ashamed. That is not how God wants me to feel. He wants me to learn from my mistakes and to forgive myself. The other day God spoke to me, He said I love you just as much now as I did then. It made me realize that God’s love is unconditional, and that my love for him now is much stronger than it was at that time in my life. I thought that the life I was living was glamorous and happy, but it was a false joy. Going to Haiti and serving God  and his people has helped me become more selfless, and now I truly understand what real joy is. There is no greater joy than putting a smile on a child’s face just for showing them love. I don’t regret what I did then because it has made me the person I am today. I now do not find my identity in what clothes Im wearing or what guy likes me, I am confident in that fact that I am loved for who I was then and who I am now, and that no matter what I do God will always love me. I am so blessed to be transformed not my the ways of this world but by God’s grace and love. I am so excited to see what God does in me when I return to Haiti January 19th, He’s got BIG plans, and Im READY!

6 thoughts on “Romans 12:2

  1. Tonya Yancey says:

    This scripture was alive for me & a few friends today, too!! Praising HIm for you. Laughing out loud, for real…

  2. Kelsey L says:

    Carley, your story is so inspiring and full of hope. I am so excited to see what God does with your life next. He is so good – all of the time!

  3. Branson says:

    Carley,

    I am so proud of you! What a great word! I know that God does have big plans for you. I can’t wait to see what HE has in store!

Leave a Reply

carley page photography

"Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. Matthew 5:16

